What kind of park do you want between the levees?

Sponsored Message

As much as $200 million in private funds could be spent on a park between the Trinity River levees.

After the Trinity toll road died, the Annette Simmons donated $10 million for a 200-acre park along the Trinity River, between the Continental Avenue pedestrian bridge and Interstate 30.

If the Trinity Park Conservancy can raise another $150 million, it will unlock another $40 million from Annette Simmons.

The question is, what should the park be?

The Trinity Park Conservancy is inviting the public to a series of workshops to help decide.

The first one is Saturday, Sept. 15 at the West Dallas Multipurpose Center. It will have a “come-and-go interactive format” from 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

Here are the other meetings on the schedule:

Monday, Sept. 17 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Cedar Crest Golf Course

Saturday, Sept. 22 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Trinity River Audubon Center

Monday, Sept. 24 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at Lake Highlands High School

Tuesday, Sept. 25 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the South Dallas Cultural Center

Wednesday, Sept. 26 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at Solar Preparatory School for Girls

Thursday, Sept. 27 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Bachman Lake Recreation Center

Tuesday, Oct. 2 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at Jimmie Tyler Brashear Elementary School

Wednesday, Oct. 3 from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library

Thursday, Oct. 4 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at George Bannerman Dealey Montessori Academy

Written By
More from Rachel Stone

Advocate slideshow: Cruise night in Bishop Arts

Cars and the people who love them turned out to Bishop Arts...
Read More