We hope you’ll be voting in one of the most-watched midterm elections in the country.

Beto vs. Cruz. Oak Cliff’s own Lupe Valdez running for governor.

And if you live in City Council District 4, there is a snap election. A guilty plea to federal corruption charges landed former Mayor Pro Tem Dwaine Caraway with a prison sentence, and 13 people are running for his seat.

  1. The most important thing to know about the District 4 election: Turn to the end of the ballot and make sure you vote in it. Voting a straight-party ticket won’t work for this race. You must choose from the vast field.
  2. One candidate, Lester Houston Jr., suspended his campaign because of a health issue, but his name will appear on the ballot.
  3. Carolyn King Arnold, a retired teacher who won the seat after term limits prohibited Caraway from running again in 2015, is in the race. She lost to Caraway in 2017.
  4. The ballot is stocked with smart, passionate people.

Here are their bios, from an Oct. 16 candidate forum at Bishop Dunne Catholic School:

Brandon J. Vance, a college advisor who is involved with the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats-Dallas, the Stonewall Democrats, the NAACP and LULAC.

Vincent T. Parker, a reverend at a church in The Bottoms who founded the Golden SEEDS community development corporation.

Becky Lewis, who describes herself as a “daughter of District 4,” is a former aide to U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson.

Obi E. Igbokwe, a former Dallas County Schools bus driver who filed a lawsuit against that now-defunct system in 2011 claiming federal labor-law violations.

Dawn M. Blair, a City of Dallas employee who has worked as a real estate property manager in the Dallas Aviation Department since 2013.

Joli Angel Robinson, a civilian employee of the Dallas Police Department who serves as manager of the office of community affairs and the youth outreach unit.

Corwyn Davis, a lawyer and adjunct professor at the North Texas Dallas College of Law.

Justina Walford, founder and artistic director of the Women Texas Film Festival and an appointee to the city’s animal advisory commission.

Donald Washington, retiree who is active in his neighborhood association.

Kebran W. Alexander, a former IT professional who is the chair of the Dallas NAACP healthcare committee.

Keyaira D. Saunders, a board member of the Next Generation Action Network, who also ran for City Council in 2015.

Carolyn King Arnold, a former teacher and City Council member, she is president of the Glen Oaks Homeowners Association and a member of the Oak Cliff Leadership Council.

Early voting runs everyday, 7 a.m.-7 p.m., through Friday Nov. 2. And election day is Tuesday, Nov. 6.