teacher awards

Stacy Cianciulli, first place – Rosemont Primary School and Erin Elliot, third place – Stonewall Jackson Elementary School. First row, Emmanuel Malana, first place – Skyline High School; William Adkins, second place – Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy; Elena Bates, third place – W.T. White High School; Shaunissy Brown, third place – Fred Florence Middle School. Shareefah Mason, first place – Boude Story Middle School; Elsy Serpas, second place – Alex Sanger Elementary School; Shareefah Mason, first place – Boude Story Middle School ; Beth Poquette-Drews , second place – L.V. Stockard Middle School; and event vice chair Colleen Brainerd.

Two Oak Cliff teachers won top prizes from the Rotary Club of Dallas’ Service Above Self Teacher Awards.

The awards are given annually to teachers who go the extra mile to serve students and the community.

Stacy Cianciulli of Rosemont Primary School and Shareefah Mason of Boude Story Middle School each won $2,500 first-place prizes, along with Emmanuel Malana of Skyline High School.

Beth Poquette-Drews of L.V. Stockard Middle School won an $800 second-place prize.

All of the Rotary Club’s nine winners received a customized plaque and an American flag that had been flown over the U.S. Capitol in their honor.